A Curator’s Photography

tumblr_mlbwss4kyb1rt33oqo1_1280

Dominic Grun

I feel blessed to have had the art career I did for the 4 years I was active. It afforded me some of the best experiences with such amazing people. Some of the responsibilities being the curator for art shows was that I had to come up with campaigns to help bring awareness for the upcoming show. Not sure if that is a traditional responsibility for a curator, but I made it my own.

tumblr_mlbx9q1ild1rt33oqo1_1280

JP Neang

When an art show would approach in the calendar, I would map out a campaign on social media as to who I would feature online, which art pieces I would show off, and what the copy would entail. This came with many struggles but some of the best outcomes in my photography.

The photographs above display some of my favorite shots within my first 12 months of being a curator. We wanted to highlight the headliners of the group shows that would consist of multiple artists on the card.

tumblr_mloaex68gm1rt33oqo1_1280

Turtle Wayne

I would travel as near as a few blocks or as far as across the state to conduct these photo shoots. The time on the road, the megabytes filled on the memory cards, and the stories will last longer than the art shows which may be ephemeral in form.

135780_1823121777629_4853134_o

Jessica Gill

I will not explain each photo. I would rather you view it and enjoy it with your own interpretation about each artist. The beauty of this is that you get to feel the true essence of the artist as opposed to being told what they are about.

If you are so inclined as to understand who these artists are, please visit:
Dominic Grun
Jessica Gill
Turtle Wayne
JP Neang

